MarginEdge vs Restaurant365
Inventory & Costing · Features checked on the official websites, Oct 2026.
Verdict
Pick MarginEdge if you mainly want food cost under control: invoice processing, recipe costing, price alerts and bill pay at a published $350 per location per month, with no contract on monthly billing, while you keep your current accountant and accounting software. Pick Restaurant365 if you want accounting, inventory, scheduling and payroll in one system and you're ready for a quote-based contract. That usually suits groups with a bookkeeper or a finance team.
Who it's for
MarginEdge
Independent restaurants and small groups that want food-cost control and invoice automation at a published price, and keep QuickBooks or another accounting system for the books.
Restaurant365
Multi-unit operators and groups that want accounting, inventory, scheduling and payroll in one restaurant-specific platform.
Feature comparison
| Feature | MarginEdge | Restaurant365 |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing (checked Oct 2026) | $350/month per location; 10% off with annual billing; + Freepour liquor scale bundle $500/month per location; bespoke pricing for large groups | Not published; the pricing page routes you to sales (quote only) |
| Contract | No contracts on monthly billing (annual billing is a 12-month commitment) | Not stated on the pricing page; ask sales |
| Setup / onboarding | No traditional setup fee; onboarding packages for 1-4 locations, custom packages for 5+ | Not stated on the pricing page; ask sales |
| Toast POS users | Toast charges $50/month per location for its Restaurant Management Suite to enable the API, plus a pass-through API fee | Not stated on the pricing page; ask about your POS integration |
| Invoice processing | Y (unlimited invoices, spot-checked by people) | Y (automated AP) |
| Bill pay | Y (unlimited, included, U.S. only) | Not highlighted on the pricing page |
| Recipe costing and inventory | Yes | Y (recipe costing, waste, transfers, prep tools) |
| Price alerts | Y (product price monitoring and alerts) | Yes |
| Accounting / general ledger | Syncs to your accounting system (accounting integrations) | Y (restaurant-specific GL, bank reconciliation, custom reports) |
| Scheduling | Not highlighted | Y (drag-and-drop scheduling, sales forecasting, labor rules) |
| Payroll and HR | Not highlighted | Y (payroll, tax filing, tip pooling, onboarding, benefits) |
| Daily P&L | Y (daily controllable P&L, plus labor) | Y (real-time financials) |
| Commissary support | Yes | Not highlighted on the pricing page |
✓ Yes = advertised on the vendor's official website (checked Oct 2026). "Not highlighted" means we didn't see it on the main product page. It may exist, so confirm with the vendor. Prices shown were read on each vendor's official pricing page (checked Oct 2026) and change often, so confirm current pricing with the vendor before you buy.
Sources
FAQ
Is MarginEdge or Restaurant365 better?
Pick MarginEdge if you mainly want food cost under control: invoice processing, recipe costing, price alerts and bill pay at a published $350 per location per month, with no contract on monthly billing, while you keep your current accountant and accounting software. Pick Restaurant365 if you want accounting, inventory, scheduling and payroll in one system and you're ready for a quote-based contract. That usually suits groups with a bookkeeper or a finance team.
Who should choose MarginEdge?
Independent restaurants and small groups that want food-cost control and invoice automation at a published price, and keep QuickBooks or another accounting system for the books.
Who should choose Restaurant365?
Multi-unit operators and groups that want accounting, inventory, scheduling and payroll in one restaurant-specific platform.
How much do MarginEdge and Restaurant365 cost?
The pricing rows in the table above were read on the official MarginEdge and Restaurant365 pricing pages (checked Oct 2026). Prices change often and some plans are quote-based, so confirm on each vendor's official pricing page before you buy.