MarketMan vs MarginEdge
Inventory & Costing · Features checked on the official websites, Oct 2026.
Verdict
Pick MarketMan if purchasing is your pain: Smart Ordering, Order by Recipe, vendor EDI and AvT reporting, with published plans from $249 to $299 a month and Enterprise from $449. Pick MarginEdge if the back office is your pain: unlimited invoice processing, built-in U.S. bill pay and a daily controllable P&L at one flat $350 per location per month, with no contract on monthly billing. Ask MarketMan about contract terms and setup costs up front, because its pricing page doesn't state them.
Who it's for
MarketMan
Kitchen-heavy restaurants and multi-unit groups that want automated ordering, recipe-level purchasing, supplier EDI and actual-vs-theoretical food cost.
MarginEdge
Independent restaurants and small groups that want invoices, bill pay and a daily P&L handled in one flat-priced tool, plus bars that want scale-based liquor counts (Freepour).
Feature comparison
| Feature | MarketMan | MarginEdge |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing (checked Oct 2026) | Starter $249/month, Growth $299/month, Enterprise from $449 (published on the pricing page; sign-up goes through a demo) | $350/month per location; 10% off with annual billing; MarginEdge + Freepour liquor scale bundle $500/month per location; bespoke pricing for large groups |
| Contract and billing | Not stated on the pricing page; ask about term length and cancellation notice before you sign | No contracts on monthly billing (annual billing is a 12-month commitment) |
| Setup / onboarding | Implementation guided by experts; a setup fee is not stated on the pricing page | No traditional setup fee; onboarding packages for 1-4 locations, custom packages for 5+ |
| Invoice capture | AI-powered invoice scans: 50/month on Starter, unlimited on Growth and Enterprise; email invoice scanning on Enterprise | Unlimited invoices processed on every account |
| Bill pay | Not highlighted | Y (unlimited, included, U.S. only) |
| Recipe costing | Y (real-time recipe costing on every plan) | Y (recipe management with menu analysis) |
| Actual vs theoretical (AvT) | Y (every plan) | Not highlighted on the pricing page |
| Automated ordering | Y (Smart Ordering and Order by Recipe on Growth and up) | Y (inventory and ordering included) |
| Vendor EDI integrations | 1 on Starter, 2 on Growth, unlimited on Enterprise (US, Canada and UK) | Not highlighted |
| Price tracking and alerts | Yes | Y (product price monitoring and alerts) |
| Daily P&L | Not highlighted | Y (daily controllable P&L, plus labor) |
| Liquor counts | Not highlighted | Y (Freepour smart scale, +$150/month per location) |
| Multi-location / commissary | Y (HQ feature centralizes inventory, purchasing and reporting across locations) | Y (commissary kitchen support) |
| POS integrations | Y (Square, Toast, Lightspeed, Clover and more) | Y (Toast users also pay Toast's $50/month per location Restaurant Management Suite plus a pass-through API fee) |
| Supplier connections | Y (Sysco, US Foods, Gordon Food Service and buying groups connect directly) | Not highlighted on the pricing page |
| Hardware and apps | No proprietary hardware; web plus iOS and Android apps | Web and mobile; Freepour scale for the bar bundle |
| API | Read-only API on Enterprise (5,000 calls/month) | Not highlighted on the pricing page |
✓ Yes = advertised on the vendor's official website (checked Oct 2026). "Not highlighted" means we didn't see it on the main product page. It may exist, so confirm with the vendor. Prices shown were read on each vendor's official pricing page (checked Oct 2026) and change often, so confirm current pricing with the vendor before you buy.
Sources
FAQ
Is MarketMan or MarginEdge better?
Pick MarketMan if purchasing is your pain: Smart Ordering, Order by Recipe, vendor EDI and AvT reporting, with published plans from $249 to $299 a month and Enterprise from $449. Pick MarginEdge if the back office is your pain: unlimited invoice processing, built-in U.S. bill pay and a daily controllable P&L at one flat $350 per location per month, with no contract on monthly billing. Ask MarketMan about contract terms and setup costs up front, because its pricing page doesn't state them.
Who should choose MarketMan?
Kitchen-heavy restaurants and multi-unit groups that want automated ordering, recipe-level purchasing, supplier EDI and actual-vs-theoretical food cost.
Who should choose MarginEdge?
Independent restaurants and small groups that want invoices, bill pay and a daily P&L handled in one flat-priced tool, plus bars that want scale-based liquor counts (Freepour).
How much do MarketMan and MarginEdge cost?
The pricing rows in the table above were read on the official MarketMan and MarginEdge pricing pages (checked Oct 2026). Prices change often and some plans are quote-based, so confirm on each vendor's official pricing page before you buy.
Get the best new hotel & restaurant tools, weekly
Related guides
- Restaurant inventory software comparison
- MarginEdge vs Ottimate (purchasing and AP automation)
- Bar inventory and food cost software
- Free food cost calculator